Tips for a Healthy Gamer

28 04 2010

junkfood1  After losing 100 pounds over the last year and a half I finally learned to get my health back in order and stay in control of what I’m eating. I was 290 pounds and the weight wasn’t slowing down. It didn’t help much when I consider myself a “Hardcore Gamer” and had a lot of down time in front of the TV. Now I’m not trying to tell to get off your couch and hit the gym and go run a few miles, but like I said as gamers we do tend to have more down time then others. With that being said there are some tasty tip I’d like to pass along for some healthier and smarter gaming snack  ideas.

For starters lets talk about our beverages. I’m going to go out a limb and guess a lot of soda is being consumed while we try saving the world from evil or trying to cross the finish line in first place. Myself I drink seltzer water (yes I know everyone thinks its awful), but the idea is to keep your calories down while sitting down. So why not try some diet sodas. Coke 0 and Diet Dr Pepper are great tasting sodas with no calories in them at all. With the weather starting to warm up now a nice cold glass of water is very refreshing and it also helps to keep you feeling fuller as well.

I know there’s better then munching away at a snack while playing your favorite game, but it doesn’t have to be foods that are going to add the pounds on.  Yes chips and some cookies are great and maybe even some candy, just not all the time. I still eat chips I just eat them in smaller portions. Instead of buying the giant super size bags of chips Ill buy the $.99 bags that are great for a session of gaming. If you have a bigger bag you tend to eat more. Also try some fruit, yes fruit and why not it tastes great. When is the last time you sat down with some strawberries, pineapple or even some grapes? You can a nice mix of 3 cups of fruit which is a lot of food and very filling. I think if more people were turned to eating more they much just say to themselves “why have I been eating more of this”.

Popcorn and pretzels are smarter choices as well. Be careful how you chose you popcorn though. You don’t want to sit down with a whole bag of microwaved popped popcorn that’s loaded with butter. Try the air popped brands this way you can control the amount of butter or “topping” that goes into your snack.  Try using some  salt and butter spray to keep your calories and fat down. Doing this will allow you to eat a TON of popcorn ! Candy is to bad when it comes to the smaller hard candies like a Jolly Rancher. You have like three or four of these and not take in to much. But instead of reaching for that Snickers Bar that’s supposed to satisfy you try grabbing a Fiber bar load with chocolate chips instead and they taste great.

I’m not trying to preach the book of good health here or anything, but rather just looking to maybe help some people that might feel they need to change some of their gaming eating habits. I still eat pizza and hamburgers I’m not a complete health fanatic or anything, but if reading this post can change just a few of the thing some of you might eat while sitting in front of the tube then I’m just happy that I could share this with all of you. After all you want raise your gamer score not your waistline!

-TX

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

